Jump to Content

Ecology, Evolutionary Biology, and Behavior

News Items

March 10, 2015
Congratulations to Steve Hamilton, who will receive the 2015 Environmental Stewardship Award from the Society of Freshwater Science in May. More on the KBS website. Steve is also highlighted as the MSU Pride Point on today's edition of MSU Today!
February 20, 2014
Discovery by Dr. Zachary Huang (Entomology) is published in the current issue of Biology Letters. Read more at: Single gene separates queen from workers
October 24, 2013
Congratulations to Ashlee Rowe and Matthew Rowe for their paper this week in Science: Voltage-gated sodium channel in grasshopper mice defends against bark scorpion toxin. In predatory grasshopper mice, the ion channel (Nav1.8) responsible for transmitting painful stimuli to the brain binds the toxin of their prey, the bark scorpion, to block venom-induced pain signals and induce analgesia.
November 01, 2012
Congratulations to Mridul Thomas, Colin Kremer, Chris Klausmeier & Elena Litchman for their paper this week in Science on responses of phytoplankton to changing ocean temperatures and their implications for biodiversity in tropical oceans.
January 27, 2012
EEBB grad student Justin Meyer's research on coevolving viruses and bacteria appears in today's issue of Science. You can also listen to Justin discuss his work in a Science Podcast or read about it in the New York Times.
November 16, 2011
Elena Litchman (EEBB/PLB/KBS) receives $2 million dollar NSF New Dimensions of Biodiversity grant to study how plankton adapt to a changing environment in Siberia’s Lake Baikal. See more at MSU News and National Science Foundation
July 26, 2010
Congratulations to Megan Duffy, EEBB Alumnus, and Spencer Hall, adjunct Asst. Professor at KBS, this year's recipients of the George Mercer Award given for outstanding recently-published ecological research paper by a young scientist.
May 19, 2010
Congratulations to EEBB alumnus, Dr. Mark McPeek, for receiving the American Institute of Biological Sciences President’s Citation. Dr. McPeek received his Ph.D. at MSU in the Department of Zoology in affiliation with EEBB and KBS. He is the David T. McLaughlin Distinguished Professor of Biological Sciences at Dartmouth College. The President's Citation recognizes meritorious accomplishments by an individual or group in the biological sciences. See press release here.
November 24, 2009
See EEBB alum Corine Vriesendorp and team members describing their rapid biological inventory work through the Field Museum on YouTube
May 14, 2009
Congratulations to EEBB students Melissa Kjelvik (ZOL/Mittelbach), Tomomi Suwa (PLB/Lau) and Mridul Thomas (ZOL/Litchman) for receiving Sigma Xi awards for dissertation Research. Also, congratulations to Matthew Aardema (ENT/Scriber)for receiving a 2-year Plant Science Fellowship and the first recipient of the Scriber Scholars in Butterfly Biology/Conservation award.
May 14, 2009
Congratuations to incoming EEBB students for receiving the following recruitment awards . . . UDF & NSF: Colin Kremer (PLB/Klausmeier). UDF: Caroline Turner (ZOL/Lenski) and Rohan Maddamsetti (ZOL/Lenski). PSF: Tyler Bassett (PLB/Lau) and Beth Miller (PLB/Klausmeier). MSU Academic Achievement Graduate Assistantship: Andrea Maguire (PLB/Kobe). Rasmussen & CNS: Christian Orlic (ZOL/Lenski) & Samuel Rossman (ZOL/P. Ostrom). CNS: Lisa Stelzner (PLB/Malmstrom).
April 24, 2009
Kay Holekamp has been named a University Distinguished Professor - the highest honor that the university can bestow on a member of its faculty. The title of University Distinguished Professor (UDP) recognizes distinguished achievement in teaching, research, and public service. Dr. Holekamp is a noted authority on the spotted hyena and her ongoing research in Kenya has been featured in numerious scientific journals and other media. Her research camp continues to provide invaluable and inspired fieldwork experience for undergraduate and graduate students. Please join us, in congratulating Dr. Holekamp!
April 08, 2009
Congratulations to EEBB grad students, Lauren Kinsman (Steve Hamilton's lab), Emily Grman (Kay Gross's Lab), Sarah Hamer (Jean Tsao's lab) and Emily Morrison (Catherine Lindell's Lab). Their Dissertation Improvement grants have been recommended for funding at NSF.
February 13, 2009
EEBB graduate student Sarah Benson-Amram was interviewed on NPR's morning edition about her work, with Prof. Kay Holekamp, on spotted hyenas.
February 12, 2009
Today is the 200th anniversary of Charles Darwin's birth, and 2009 is the 150th anniversary of his landmark book "On the Origin of Species". The National Science Foundation today released a special report on Darwin and Evolution including an essay by and interview with EEBB Prof. Rich Lenski. Working with the Society for the Study of Evolution, EEBB Prof. Rob Pennock also put together a video birthday card for Darwin.
February 09, 2009
Great news! Prof. Kay Holekamp has been appointed the new Director of the EEBB Program effective immediately. As most of you know, Kay is an outstanding scholar and mentor, and she has long been involved with the EEBB Program. I'm sure she will provide thoughtful and excellent leadership for our program for years to come. For the next month or so, I'll be working along side Kay to help her transition into the position. As always, you can contact Pat in the EEBB office with any questions, and she will direct requests to one or both of us as needed. -- Rich Lenski
December 20, 2008
President-elect Barack Obama has named Oregon State Prof. Jane Lubchenco as one of his top science advisors. MSU awarded Dr. Lubchenco an honorary doctor of science degree in 2003 for her pioneering research in marine ecology and public leadership on biodiversity and global health.
December 09, 2008
Congratulations to two EEBB faculty, Prof. Elena Litchman and Prof. Alex Shingleton, each of whom has been awarded a prestigious NSF CAREER award!!
June 02, 2008
Carl Zimmer has a blog article featuring research by EEBB student Zachary Blount and Prof. Richard Lenski on the experimental evolution of a new function in E. coli bacteria
April 05, 2008
Congratulations to three EEBB students who are among five NSF pre-doctoral fellowship recipients this year at MSU!!! The EEBBers are Ellen Holste (working with Prof. Rich Kobe), Kane Keller (working with Prof. Jen Lau), and Eli Swanson (working with Prof. Kay Holekamp).
April 04, 2008
EEBB Prof. Jen Lau has received a Young Investigator Prize from the American Society of Naturalists. This award recognizes "rising stars" in ecology, evolution, and allied fields. Congratulations, Jen!
March 04, 2008
Congratulations to EEBB Prof. Kay Holekamp for the front-page write up of her fascinating research on spotted hyenas in today's "Science Times" section of the New York Times!