Directory

Search

Christoph C. Adami
MSU Department:  Microbiology & Molecular Genetics, Professor

Ph.D., State University of New York, Stony Brook, 1991
Evolution of Behavior and Intelligence
Email:  adami@msu.edu

Gregory Bonito
MSU Department: Plant, Soil and Microbial Sciences, Assistant Professor

Ph.D., Duke University, 2009.
Fungal ecology, fungal-plant interactions, evolution of bacterial endosymbiosis.
Email:  bonito@msu.edu

Janette Boughman
MSU Department: Integrative Biology, Professor
Ph.D., University of Maryland, 1997.
Behavioral and evolutionary ecology; mechanisms of speciation.
Email:  boughman@msu.edu

Ingo Braasch
MSU Department: Integrative Biology, Assistant Professor

Ph.D., University of Würzburg, Germany, 2009.
Evolutionary developmental genomics of fishes and other vertebrates.
Email:  braasch@msu.edu

Gideon Bradburd
MSU Department: Integrative Biology, Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of California, Davis, 2015
Research is on evolutionary biology focusing on causes and consequences of genetic variation; population genetics.
Email:  bradburd@msu.edu

Henry Chung (H. W.)
MSU Department: Entomology, Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Melbourne, Australia, 2008
Investigating the molecular mechanisms underlying 1) evolution of insecticide resistance and 2) divergence of insect pheromone systems.
Email: hwchung@msu.edu

Anthony Cognato
MSU Department: Entomology, Professor

Ph.D. University of California, Berkeley, 1998
Insect Systematics and Director of the A.J. Cook Arthropod Research Collection
Email:  cognato@msu.edu

Jeffrey K. Conner
MSU Department: Plant Biology, Professor

Ph.D., Cornell University, 1987.
Evolutionary ecology, ecological genetics
Email:  connorj@msu.edu

Fred C. Dyer
MSU Department: Integrative Biology, Professor,
Director of Graduate Studies

Ph.D., Princeton University, 1984
Ethology and behavioral ecology
Email:  fcdyer@msu.edu

Patrick Edger
MSU Department: Horticulture, Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Missouri, 2012.
Phylogenomics, Comparative Functional Genomics, Systems Biology
Email:  edgerpat@msu.edu

Heather L. Eisthen
MSU Department: Integrative Biology, Associate Professor
Ph.D., Indiana University, 1992.
Neuroethology; evolutionary and developmental neurobiology.
E-mail:  eisthen@msu.edu

Sarah Fitzpatrick
MSU Department: Integrative Biology, Assistant Professor

Ph.D., Colorado State University, 2015
Research in my lab combines genomic tools, mark-recapture methods, and experiments to study how interactions between gene flow, drift, and selection affect population dynamics and diversity patterns.
Email: sfitz@msu.edu

Jason Gallant
MSU Department: Integrative Biology, Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Cornell University, 2011
Neuroethology, genomics, animal communication
Email:  jgallant@msu.edu

Thomas Getty
MSU Department: Integrative Biology, Professor and Chair 

Ph.D., University of Michigan, 1980.
Behavioral ecology of vertebrates.
Email:  getty@kbs.msu.edu

Michael D. Gottfried
MSU Department: Earth and Environment Sciences, Associate Professor

Ph.D., University of Kansas, 1991.
Vertebrate paleontology.
Email:  gottfrie@msu.edu

Katherine L. Gross
MSU Department: Plant Biology, University Distinguished
Professor of Plant Biology
Ph.D., Michigan State University, 1980.
Plant population and community ecology.
Email:  kgross@kbs.msu.edu

Kay E. Holekamp
MSU Department: Integrative Biology, University Distinguished
Professor and Director of EEBB
Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley, 1983.
Behavioral ecology; ethology and behavioral endocrinology.
Email:  holekamp@msu.edu

Zachary Huang
MSU Department: Entomology, Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Guelph, Ontario, 1988.
Behavioral physiology, insect sociobiology.
Email:  bees@msu.edu

Andrew M. Jarosz
MSU Department: Plant Biology, Associate Professor
Ph.D., Purdue University, 1984
Evolutionary ecology of plant-pathogen interactions
Email:  amjarosz@msu.edu

Richard E. Lenski
MSU Department: Plant, Soil and Microbial Sciences
Hannah Distinguished Professor of Microbial Ecology

Ph.D., North Carolina State University, 1983.
Experimental evolution with microbes and digital organisms.
Email:  lenski@msu.edu

Kevin Liu
MSU Department: Computer Science and Engineering, Assistant Professor

Ph.D., University of Texas, Austin, 2011
The Liu Lab creates new computational methodologies for efficient and accurate comparative genomic analyses, especially in the context of complex evolutionary scenarios.
Email:  kjl@msu.edu

David Lowry
MSU Department: Plant Biology, Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Duke University, 2010
Plant Evolutionary Genomics, Adaptation, and Speciation
Email: dlowry@msu.edu

Barbara L. Lundrigan
MSU Department: Integrative Biology, Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Michigan, 1988.
Phylogenetics; evolution of behavior and morphology.
Email:  lundriga@msu.edu

Mariah Meek
MSU Department: Integrative Biology, Assistant Professor

Ph.D., University of California, Davis, 2010
Meek Lab aims to understand the interactions among molecular ecology, population health and persistence, anthropogenic change, and trait variation with an emphasis on aquatic systems.
Email:  mhmeek@msu.edu

Cheryl A. Murphy
MSU Department: Fisheries and Wildlife, Associate Professor
Ph.D., Louisiana State University, 2006
Environmental toxicology
Email:  camurphy@msu.edu

Charles A. Ofria
MSU Department: Computer Science and Engineering, Professor
Ph.D., California Institute of Technology, 1999
Email:  ofria@msu.edu

Robert T. Pennock
MSU Department: Lyman Briggs/Philosophy, University
Distinguished Professor 

Ph.D., University of Pittsburgh. 1991
Philosophy of biology; evolutionary computation; history & philosophy of science; science & values
Email:  pennock5@msu.edu

L. Alan Prather
MSU Department: Plant Biology, Associate Professor
Director of MSU Herbarium

Ph.D., University of Texas, Austin, 1995
Plant systematics and evolution of floral morphology
Email:  alan@msu.edu

John D. Robinson
MSU Department: FIsheries and WIldlife, Assistant Professor
Ph.D. University of Georgia, 2011
Research Interests:  Population and conservation genetics, demographic inference
Organisms:  Freshwater and marine invertebrates, fish, plants 
E-mail:  jdrob@msu.edu

Monique Sakalidis
MSU Department: Plant, Soil and Microbial Sciences, Assistant Professor

Ph.D., Murdoch University, Perth, Australia, 2011
Research focuses on the use of genomic tools in conjunction with traditional pathology tools to mitigate and respond to forest tree diseases (detection, identification, pathogenicity and population analysis), emerging endemic and exotic invasive pathogens.
E-mail: sakalidi@msu.edu

Kim L. Scribner
MSU Department: Fisheries and WIldlife, Professor
Ph.D., University of Georgia, 1992
Population genetics, population ecology and conservation biology
Email:  scribne3@msu.edu

Ashley Shade
MSU Department: Microbiology and Molecular Genetics, Assistant Professor
Professor; Ph.D., University of Wisconsin, Madison, 2010
Ecology and evolution of microbial communities
Email:  shadeash@msu.edu

Shin-Han Shiu
MSU Department: Plant Biology, Associate Professor

Ph.D., University of Wisconsin, Madison, 2001
Evolution of Genomes
Email:  shius@msu.edu

James J. Smith
MSU Department: Lyman Briggs/Biology, Professor
Ph.D., Michigan State University, 1985
Molecular systematics and evolution
Email:  jimsmith@msu.edu

Jean I. Tsao
MSU Department: Fisheries and Wildlife, Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Chicago, 2001
Ecology and evolution of disease organisms
Email:  tsao@msu.edu

Christopher M. Waters
MSU Department: Microbiology and Molecular Genetics, Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Minnesota, 2002
Evolution of cooperative behavior in bacteria
Email:  watersc3@msu.edu

Marjorie Weber
MSU Department: Plant Biology, Assistant Professor

Ph.D., Cornell University, 2014
The ecology and macroevolution of plant-arthropod interactions.
Email:  weberm11@msu.edu

William Wetzel
MSU Department: Entomology, Assistant Professor

Ph.D., University of California, Davis, 2015
Population and community ecology, plant-insect interactions, quantitative ecology.
Email:  wcwetzel@msu.edu

Peter White
MSU Department: Lyman Briggs/Entomology

Assistant Professor; Ph.D., McGill University, Montreal, 2011
Lepidoptera biology, landscape ecology, and evolution education in K-12 ad higher ed.
E-mail: pwhite@msu.edu